23 Things: Thing 4 – RSS feeds, Twitter, and Pushnote

Current awareness comes in many flavours.

As I said earlier, I have two Twitter accounts, and I find it somewhat useful for current awareness – the trick is to figure out who to follow so you can keep on top of things. It mixes current awareness news accounts with engaging others (or at least, that’s what I think it should do) so it can be useful for discussion if people use it that way. Most of the time though, I “fave” tweets and never look at them later. So I’m not sure if I’m getting the right things out of it. Maybe I need to have a clearout of who I follow, or reorganise between accounts. I do have lists, but they’re a bit out of date as well.

RSS feeds – similar story. I use Google Reader but again, the key element seems to be keeping it manageable.

I’ve had a look at Pushnote, but I’m not sure yet how to use it, or if it can be of more use to me than my current bookmarking tool of choice, Licorize.

Leave a Reply

