23 Things: Thing 2 – Discover Others’ Blogs

Thing 2 on the list is having a nose-around on other library-related blogs that are participating in this.

How do you go about choosing? Well, here’s how my process went. Since I live and work in the UK but am originally from Germany, my first instinct was to look for blogs from either of these two countries. I myself work in academic librarianship, so, while it’s certainly interesting to read about others’ experience in this sector, what’s really intriguing (and also, what’s kind of the point of the whole exercise) is reading about the experiences of those who work in different environments, both from a human interest point of view and also to get a look-in into potential future career options for myself.

I started off by looking at the Graduate Trainee blogs, having finished my own traineeship fairly recently. Of course, the one that stands out has to be Carley, the London Library Girl, who managed to secure the most coveted traineeship post in the UK this year. The Neon Librarian and BooleanBerry warm my heart by being young, fresh, honest, and media-savvy, and using blogs the way they were intended: in a multimedial fashion. Cheers for your entertaining posts, guys πŸ™‚

Looking at other sectors that I’m interested in, Kristine’s Taken for Binding from the library of the National Museum of Wales caught my attention. Museum libraries are very underappreciated and forgotten about, so it’s nice to see people working in them sharing their experience with others in the profession.

Another sector that I’m looking at is school libraries.Β  I doff my hat to everyone who takes on the daunting tasks of a school librarian – I’ve thought about doing it myself but I’m a bit scared of it as well, to be quite honest. Gems Library and Every Burned Book Enlightens The World were ones that caught my eye. I’m looking forward to reading more of you guys as well πŸ™‚

Obligatory shout-outs go to my colleague and fellow Essex trainee Katie and Gaz Johnson, a chance Twitter acquaintance who worked with Katie and who I have yet to meet. But if we ever do meet in real life, we already know we will be talking about Green Lantern, Firefly, and other geeky things that we share an interest in. The things the internet does πŸ™‚

I think this Thing needs more than one post, really – there are so many interesting blogs out there and blog posts have to be short to catch people’s attention, so I’ll stop here and carry on later.

7 thoughts on “23 Things: Thing 2 – Discover Others’ Blogs

  1. Hi there πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for your lovely comment about my blog – I’m really pleased you’ve enjoyed reading it so far (in fact, it’s just nice to know someone out there is actually reading it!!) I am 1 of 3 trainees at the London Library at the moment – if you’re interested, their blogs are listed on the right hand side of my own (“trails and trials of a trainee librarian” and “stalking the stacks”), and they’re extremely good reads as well πŸ™‚ Congratulations on participating in CPD23 though – hope you enjoy it!

  2. Thanks so much for mentioning me in your post, it was quite a thrill to see my blog singled out, particularly as I’m still a newbie when it comes to blogging. And, I’d be interested to hear your experiences of distance learning, I did the distance learning course at Aberystwyth, so it would be good to compare notes!

  3. You’re welcome! I’m still sifting through the mass of great LIS blogs on the participants’ list.
    I’d love to compare notes re: distance learning. For starters, I did a few posts about my degree on this blog. Talk soon πŸ™‚

  4. Hey Carley,
    thanks for linking to the other two London Library trainees, I’ll make sure to check their blogs out as well. Are any of you coming to the London CPD23 meetup tomorrow?

  5. Wow – thanks for the mention on CPD23! I agree that there are a ton of really interesting, useful blogs out there. I’m hoping to spend more time on CPD23 over the summer hols, things were really busy at school in the last month or so of term so I didn’t have much of an opportunity to get stuck in. I’ll definitely be posting some more on my blog soon – still can’t believe that people are reading it! Good luck finishing off your MA – I can (vaguely) remember finishing mine many moons ago (although mine wasn’t remotely library or information services related – isn’t that strange!).

Leave a Reply

